Tired Of Being Wired Saison (Heaney)

Written by:

There’s a distinct novelty of drinking a can on a street, like you’re breaking the rules or something but not really, it’s a little beer garden area outside the Reporter bar.

These wee areas outside pubs have sprung up like crazy in the past few years… For obvious reasons and I absolutely love them. Sitting outside with your mates enjoying a few bevvys in the afternoon or evening is always a great time.

Then again, I prefer the smoking area to the bar cos that’s where the craic is, even though I don’t smoke. The music volume is much lower so you can have a chat and there’s this lovely hum of different conversations and hope in the air.

So, beer? I kinda lost the run of myself there.

This particular time in one of those wee beer gardens, I grabbed the Tired of Being Wired Saison by Heaney brewing who are based up in Magherafelt.

Anyway, let’s get into this. Tired of Being Wired clocks in at a healthy 5% ABV and comes in a 440ml can.

On the nose, there’s hints of orange peel, lemon zest, peach and general fruity niceness.

The taste brings more of the same with a bit of stone fruit in there, a nice hit of spices and a slight sour note that keeps the tastebuds interested. It’s medium to light bodied so makes for a fantastic sipper, really easy going and full of flavour. Carb is good on this as well and not overpowering.

All in all, I enjoyed this and would happily have it again. I’d actually love a big pint of this in the summer as it’s incredibly refreshing and can’t help thinking that if I enjoyed this beer this much in winter, it’d hit the spot even more on a hot day after a long day of, well, whatever it is I do. I’m still trying to figure that out.

I’d rate this 3.9 Saisonybois out of 5

G’luck,
Seán

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started